Regulatory Reports

Report on Fees and Other Forms of Remuneration and Report on Your Investment Performance: Everything You Need to Know

Regulation

As a result of changes made by regulators to improve the information provided to investors, all securities brokers in Canada are required to disclose new information to their clients. To meet these regulatory requirements, Desjardins Online Brokerage produces, since 2016, the two following annual reports, which accompany the year-end portfolio statement:

  1. Annual Report on Charges and Other Forms of Compensation, which list all changes related to your account.
  2. Investment Performance Report, which will provide information about the performance of your brokerage accounts.

These reports are meant to provide investors with greater transparency and to better harmonize reporting conventions by having all securities dealers in Canada use the same method to calculate performance.

If you currently get your statements electronically, you will receive the reports in the Statements section of the secure website, accessible through the Client Login or otherwise by mail. Please note that the time frame for receipt of your portfolio statement will be longer than usual as it will be sent at the same time as the Report on Charges and Other Forms of Compensation and the Investment Performance Report.

The information in these reports is obtained from sources we believe to be reliable, but is not guaranteed by Desjardins Online Brokerage and may be incomplete. These reports have been prepared for information purposes, to facilitate the management of your portfolio and do not constitute tax documents. We wish to point out that your statement is the official document that always takes precedence over the information contained herein.

Example of annual report on fees and other forms of remuneration

Annual report on charges and other compensation

This report lists all changes and amounts paid to Desjardins Online Brokerage for the services you receive. Two types of compensation are collected:

  • Direct Compensation, paid by you, which includes:
    • Brokerage commissions, which are amounts charged to you on your transactions.
    • Account-related fees, which are amounts charged to cover the operation, maintenance, transfer or closing of an account, plus the federal, provincial and territorial sales taxes paid on these amounts.
  • Indirect Compensation, paid by third parties, which includes:
    • Purchase commissions and trailer fees received from third parties, which are comprised of commissions from issuers paid to Desjardins Online Brokerage for the investment of their products and for the services you receive.

You can view the full list of fees here.

Example of annual report on the performance of your investments

Annual report on the performance of your investments

This report will allow you to better understand the progress of your investments and to see that your strategies achieve your financial goals.

Covering the period from January 1 to December 31, this report shows you the change in the market value of your portfolio for the year and your total personal rate of return.

Your total personal rate of return is an annual return calculated for each account you hold using the Dollar Value Weighted Rate of Return method.

The dollar-weighted rate of return takes into account the importance of fund movements (your deposits and withdrawals) and the dates at which they are made considers the performance of investment products in which you have invested. Therefore, it does not allow for comparisons with benchmarks since they do not take into account your deposits or withdrawals nor, in most cases, management and operating expenses. This method is the Canadian standard and is recognized and adopted by the Canadian securities regulator (IIROC).

The dollar-weighted rate of return may exhibit excessive returns under certain conditions:

Depending on the use of the account: Depending on the nature of the account:
- Account at 0 or a low value for several days - Negative values
- Cash account used solely to pay fees - Short positions
- Account used for minimum withdrawals (LIRA/LIF, RRSP/RRIF) - Margin account
  - Guaranteed account

Additional information

The Investment Funds Institute of Canada (IFIC)
CRM2 Myths and Facts NOTE - This link will open in a new tab.

For all other questions, please contact our Client Service department.

Open Monday to Friday, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. ET.

1-866-873-7103

Haut de la page

Rapports réglementaires

Rapport sur les frais et autres formes de rémunération et Rapport sur le rendement de vos placements : tout ce que vous devez savoir.

Réglementation

À la suite des changements adoptés par les organismes de réglementation en vue d’améliorer l’information fournie aux investisseurs, tous les courtiers en valeurs mobilières au Canada sont dans l’obligation de divulguer de nouvelles informations à leur clientèle. Pour répondre à ces exigences réglementaires, depuis 2016, Desjardins Courtage en ligne transmet à tous ses clients, simultanément à l’envoi du relevé de portefeuille au 31 décembre, les rapports annuels suivants :

  1. Le Rapport annuel sur les frais et autres formes de rémunération, qui présente la liste détaillée des frais reliés à votre compte.
  2. Le Rapport sur le rendement des placements, qui fournit des renseignements sur le rendement de vos comptes de courtage.

Ces rapports visent une plus grande transparence ainsi qu’une plus grande harmonisation des règles, notamment en ayant recours à la même méthode de calcul du rendement par tous les courtiers en valeurs mobilières au Canada.

Si vous recevez actuellement votre relevé de portefeuille par voie électronique, vous recevrez ces rapports dans la section Relevés de la plateforme sécurisée, accessible via l’Accès client, ou dans le cas contraire, par la poste. Veuillez prendre note que le délai de réception de votre relevé de portefeuille pourrait être plus long qu’à l’habitude, puisqu’il vous sera envoyé en même temps que le Rapport sur les frais et autres formes de rémunération et le Rapport sur le rendement de vos placements.

Les renseignements contenus dans ce rapport ont été produits à partir de sources que nous jugeons fiables, mais leur exactitude et leur exhaustivité ne peuvent être garanties. Ces rapports ne constituent pas des documents fiscaux. Nous désirons toutefois vous souligner que votre relevé de compte constitue le document officiel qui aura toujours préséance sur les renseignements contenus aux présentes.

Le rapport annuel sur les frais et autres formes de rémunération

Ce rapport fait état des frais et autres formes de rémunération perçus par Desjardins Courtage en ligne en contrepartie des services dont vous avez bénéficié. Deux types de rémunération sont perçues :

  • Une rémunération directe, payée par vous, qui inclut :
    • Les commissions de courtage, c’est-à-dire tout montant facturé à la suite d’une transaction.
    • Les frais afférents à votre compte, lesquels couvrent le fonctionnement, le maintien, le transfert ou la fermeture d’un compte, incluant les taxes de vente fédérale, provinciale et territoriale payées sur ceux-ci.
  • Une rémunération indirecte, versée de tierces parties, qui inclut :
    • Les commissions à l'achat et commissions de suivi reçues de tierces parties, qui consistent en des commissions provenant des émetteurs et perçues par Desjardins Courtage en ligne pour le placement de leurs produits et les services qui vous sont offerts.

Vous pouvez consulter la liste complète des frais.

Exemple du rapport annuel sur les frais et autres formes de rémunération
Exemple du rapport annuel sur le rendement de placements

Le rapport annuel sur le rendement de vos placements

Il vous permettra de mieux comprendre la progression de vos investissements et de voir à ce que vos stratégies favorisent l’atteinte de vos objectifs financiers.

Couvrant la période de 1er janvier au 31 décembre, ce rapport vous présente la variation de la valeur marchande de votre portefeuille pour l’année ainsi que votre taux de rendement total personnel.

Votre taux de rendement total personnel est un rendement annuel, calculé pour chaque compte que vous détenez et selon la méthode du Taux de rendement pondéré en fonction de la valeur en dollars.

La méthode de calcul du taux de rendement pondéré en fonction de la valeur en dollars mesure le rendement de vos placements en tenant compte de l’importance des mouvements monétaires (vos dépôts et vos retraits) et des dates auxquelles ils ont eu lieu. Ainsi, elle n’est pas une méthode permettant les comparaisons avec un indice de référence puisque celui-ci ne tient pas compte de vos dépôts ou retraits ni, dans la plupart des cas, des frais de gestion et d’exploitation. Cette méthode, reconnue et adoptée par l’Organisme canadien de réglementation du commerce en valeurs mobilières (OCRCVM), est la norme en vigueur.

Le taux de rendement pondéré en fonction de la valeur en dollars peut présenter des rendements excessifs dans certaines situations :

Selon l'utilisation du compte Selon la nature du compte
Compte à 0 ou avec une faible valeur pendant plusieurs journées Valeurs négatives
Compte comptant servant uniquement à payer des frais Positions à découvert
Compte servant au retrait minimum (CRI/FRV, REER/FERR) Compte marge
  Compte en garantie